Interstate Medical Licensure Compact License

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact offers a voluntary, expedited pathway to licensure for qualified physicians who wish to practice in multiple states.  If you are eligible, you can apply through the Compact for separate licenses in multiple or all states that are participants in the Compact.

Please visit the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact website for more information and a map of participating states.


How to Apply


Eligibility Requirements

It is important to determine your eligibility prior to applying to participate in the Compact. There are two types of eligibility requirements: State of Principle Licensure (SPL) eligibility and general eligibility.

SPL Eligibility

In order to receive licensure through the Compact, you must:

  • Hold a full, unrestricted medical license in a state that is a member of the Compact – this is called your State of Principal License (SPL). See the Map current Compact states.

In addition, at least ONE of the requirements below must apply:

  • Your primary residence is in the SPL.
  • At least 25% of your practice of medicine occurs in the SPL.
  • Your employer is located in the SPL.
  • You use the SPL as your state of residence for U.S. Federal Income Tax purposes.

In order to remain active within the Compact, you must maintain your SPL status at all times. You may re-designate your SPL to another state after you have received your initial qualification – as long as the state is a participant in the Compact.

General Eligibility

In addition to having basic SPL status, there are several General Eligibility requirements. You must:

  • Have graduated from an accredited medical school, or a school listed in the International Medical Education Directory.
  • Have successfully completed ACGME- or AOA-accredited graduate medical education.
  • Have passed each component of the USMLE, COMLEX-USA, or equivalent in no more than three attempts for each component.
  • Hold a current specialty certification or time-unlimited certification by an ABMS or AOABOS board.

In addition, you must:

  • Not have any history of disciplinary actions toward your medical license.
  • Not have any criminal history.
  • Not have any history of controlled substance actions toward your medical license.
  • Not currently be under investigation.

Each physician is responsible for making a self-determination of eligibility prior to applying to participate in the Compact, and they must confirm that they understand the Compact rules.

For further clarification, please refer to IMLC’s FAQs and Compact Policies, Rules and Laws section.


Renewal Requirements

As a participating Compact physician, you will receive a separate notice from each state where you are licensed when it is time to renew that license.  However, you are ultimately responsible for knowing your renewal dates and fees.




Please see the IMLC’s FAQ page.



Licensure Specialist Kaneisha Sankey

Contact for Compact/IMLC applications