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PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE  
GENERAL INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST 

 
 
NOTE:  Please be advised that you are required to obtain the Board’s written authorization 
before practicing with a new supervising physician.   NOTE: You may not begin work without a 
license or written temporary approval from the Georgia Composite Medical Board. 
 
TEMPORARY LICENSES WILL NOT BE ISSUED TO REINSTATEMENT APPLICANTS OR APPLICANTS 
WHO CURRENTLY HOLD OR HAVE EVER HELD A LICENSE IN ANY OTHER STATE. 
 
APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE REVIEWED WITHOUT APPLICATION FEE 
 

GEORGIA COMPOSITE MEDICAL BOARD FEES INCREASE JULY 1, 2010 
Application Fee:   Reinstatement Lapsed Application:   $400.00 
   Reinstatement Inactive Application: $200.00 
 
Make check/money order payable to: Georgia Composite Medical Board. Georgia State Government or 
Georgia County employees are fee exempt.  Federal government employees are not exempt. 
 
Please read the instructions carefully PRIOR TO attempting to answer the questions on the 
Physician Assistant Application Forms. Also, please read the Frequently Asked Questions 
regarding Physician Assistants on our web site at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov  Please do not 
submit two-sided copies of the application or accompanying documentation.  
 
FALSIFICATION/MISREPRESENTATION 
Please be aware that falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any 
attachment hereto is sufficient basis for denying or revoking a license.   
 
INTERNET DISCLOSURE OF PHYSICIAN’S ASSISTANT ADDRESS 
Georgia law requires the Georgia Composite State Board of Medical Examiners to provide, upon written or 
verbal request, an address for each licensed physician’s assistant.  Public-record information pertaining to 
licensed physician’s assistant is available to the public through the Board’s website 
(www.medicalboard.georgia.gov).  
 
The release of this information has highlighted the need for physicians to carefully consider the address they 
provide to the Board as their address of record.  Please be aware that the address you indicate as your 
address of record will be the address disclosed to all individuals making inquiries and will be utilized to mail all 
licenses, renewal notices, and other official correspondence from the Board. The Practice Location will be 
posted on the Internet. 
 
You may choose your home address or your office address to be your address of record.  If you 
list a P.O. Box as your primary address, you must also provide a secondary street address that 
will remain confidential.  Georgia law requires that the Board be kept informed of any changes of 
address.  Changes should be submitted in writing to the above address, and should include the 
license number, name, old address and new address.   
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PHYSICIANS ASSISTANT CHECKLIST 
 

◊ All applicants must have graduated from an accredited Physician Assistant education program approved by 
the Board. 

 

◊ All applicants must submit:  
 Pages 1- 5- Physician Assistant Reinstatement Application. 
 Page 5 - Application for Utilization of a Physician Assistant completed by the primary 

supervising physician.  Supervising physician must also list all alternate supervising physicians, if 
applicable. 

 CME’s are required from last license renewal to present. 

◊ FOR APPLICANTS WHO ARE NOT U.S. CITIZENS: 
If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must submit documentation that will determine if you have a 
qualified alien status.  Only those applicants who can provide proof will be granted a license.   
The Board participates in the DHS-USCIS SAVE (Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements or 
"SAVE") program for the purpose of verifying citizenship and immigration status information of non-
citizens.  
 
In order to confirm your status with the SAVE program, you need to provide the board with legible 
copies of one of the following document(s): 
 
1. Valid (not expired) foreign passport with I-94 or I-551 
2. Temporary resident alien card (I-688) 
3. Permanent resident alien card (I-551) 
4. Employment Authorization Card (I-766) or (I-688A) 
5. Employment Authorization Document (I-688B) 
6. Refugee Travel Document (I-571) 
7. Reentry Permit (I-327) 
8. Certificate of Citizenship 
9. Naturalization Certificate 
10.   Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language) 
11.   Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport of I-94) 
12.   I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) 
13.   I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status) 
14.   DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status) 

Please be sure that copies of any submitted documents are legible. Use a good quality copier 
and increase the size of the copy if need be. If the following information is needed, it must be legible: 
Alien Number; Card Number; Document Expiration Date; SEVIS ID Number.  One or all of these 
numbers or dates may be required when we submit your information to SAVE.  If we cannot read 
what you have submitted, we will be unable to submit your information to the SAVE program, which 
will delay the consideration of your application.  
 

◊ Form A - Affidavit of Applicant (must be signed, dated and notarized).  The applicant and notary 
signature dates must match.  A current photograph that is 2”x2”, head and shoulders only, and not 
more than six months old.  Attach photograph to Affidavit. 

◊  Notarized Affidavit that you are a United Stated Citizen, a legal permanent resident of the United States, or that 
you are a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. If you are not a U.S. 
citizen, you must submit documentation that will determine if you have a qualified alien status. The Board participates 
in the DHS-USCIS SAVE (Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements or "SAVE") program for the purpose of 
verifying citizenship and immigration status information of non-citizens. If you are a qualified alien or non-immigrant 
under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, you must provide the alien number issued by the Department of 
Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency.  This Affidavit form may be found on our website as 
page 2 of Form A.  This form must be signed, dated and notarized.  

◊ Verifiable Document.  Send along with your Notarized Affidavit, at least one secure and verifiable 
document.  For a listing of acceptable verifiable documents, see Page 3-4 of Form A.   
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◊ Form C or Form D – Reference Form - Applicants must provide two (2) current references, 
addressed to the Board, and must be from licensed physicians, other than proposed employer and/or 
director of training program, who have supervised you. Applicants downloading application forms from our 
web site must download two (2) copies of the Physician Assistant Reference Form. 
 

◊ Form E - Basic Job Description – Physician Anesthesiologist Assistant.  Must be signed by the 
applicant and the primary supervising physician. 

 
OR 

◊ Form F - Basic Job Description – Physician Assistant – Primary Care.  Must be signed by the 
applicant and the primary supervising physician. 

 
Section J of the Basic Job Description allows prescribing privileges for Physician Assistants.  If 
you do not need these privileges, the physician may cross through this section. 

 

 Section K of the Basic Job Description.  The Physician Assistant may request, receive and sign for 
professional samples and may distribute professional samples to patients in accordance with 
O.C.G.A. §43-34-103(e.2).  The Physician Assistant shall maintain, in the office or facility where 
the Physician Assistant is working, a log detailing a complete listing of the specific number and 
dosage of each professional sample received and dispensed.  All professional samples shall be 
maintained as required by applicable state and federal law and regulations. 

 

◊ Form I - “Verification of Licensure Form”. If you have ever been issued a physician assistant license 
in another state, regardless of the status of your license, you must have the state licensing board(s) 
complete and mail the form directly to the Georgia Composite Medical Board.  Applicants who download 
this form from our web site must download one form for each state in which you hold or have held a 
license. 

◊ Resume - Current resume of activities and education. 

◊ NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK (NPDB)/HEALTHCARE INTEGRITY AND PROTECTION 
DATA BANK (HIPDB).  These data banks are mandated by Congress to track regulatory Board 
disciplinary actions and certain  actions resulting from peer review and malpractice payments.  This is 
to advise you that you must self-query  the NPDB and the HIPDB on your own as part of the 
application process for a Georgia medical license.  Simply  query the data bank using the Internet 
address at www.npdb-hipdb.com, then click on Perform a Self-Query from  the Quick List on the home 
page, or call 1-800-767-6732 from 8:30 am to 6:00 pm EST (8:30 to 5:30 on Fridays).  You will be 
charge a fee from the NPDB for this service.  When you receive the response, do not open the 
envelope – send the envelope, unopened, directly to the Board along with your application 
packet.   Altered envelopes which contain official, original, certified official documents will 
not be accepted. 

 
You do not have to submit the NPDB-HIPDB report if: 

● You have only held a temporary, limited or training license; 
● You are a Canadian licensed physician. 

 
You MUST REQUEST the NPDB-HIPDB report if: 

●You have an active, inactive or lapsed license in ANY STATE. 
 

The Board meets 12 times a year to consider completed applications. Your completed application must be 
received five (5) business days prior to the next month’s board meeting to be considered.  Generally, 
the Medical Board meets the first week of the month in which there is a consecutive Thursday and Friday. 
(eg, if the Thursday is the 31st of a month and Friday is the 1st the board will not meet until the following 
week).  Please call us at (404) 656-3913 to confirm our board meeting dates or check our web site for this 
information. All approvals will be posted to the website the Monday following the meeting. 

http://www.npdb-hipd.com/
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