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Frequently Asked Questions 

Physician Assistant Licensure Process 

Disclaimer:  Any and all statements herein should not be construed as official policy or positions of 

the Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB). The information is merely provided on 

our web page by Board staff for general guidance to the citizens of Georgia and users of 

our website. No individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding opinion or 

statement for the full Board. Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a 

legal opinion for any particular situation. Refer to the Rules and Laws of the Georgia 

Composite Medical Board and consult an attorney of your choice for clarification. 

DO NOT begin working as a Physician Assistant until you have received official notification in 

writing from the Medical Board of approval for your Primary Supervising Physician. 

1.  How do I apply for a physician assistant license?  

ONLINE: The quickest and easiest way to apply for this type of license is to submit your 

application online by visiting our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov and click the GCMB 

online services link, click here to get started link. You will be required to REGISTER first before 

you can apply for this license.  

PAPER APPLICATION: If you prefer to apply by paper application, you may visit our website 

at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov and click the Professional Resources link, click the Apply for 

a new license link.  A request for an application may also be requested in writing by submitting 

the following information: your legal name and mailing address, or by contacting the Board 

directly at (404) 656-3913 or 3914.  

2.  How long does it take to obtain a Physician Assistant License?  

The normal processing time for a physician assistant license, depending on timeliness of primary 

source documentation and other required information, is 4-6 weeks. Once your application is 

complete, your file will be sent to quality assurance and reviewed within 10 business days and an 

initial licensure determination will be made. You will be notified in writing of the initial 

determination after the next scheduled Medical Board meeting date when your application will be 

considered.  

3.  I have a job offer and need a Physician Assistant license immediately. What should I do if 

my application is not considered complete by the 10-business day deadline to go to the next 

Board meeting? 

Under these circumstances the Board encourages you to check with your primary source verifiers, 

(e.g., school transcripts, references, post-graduate training program, test scores, and out-of-state 

licensure verification), to make sure they send your information directly to the Medical Board in a 

timely fashion. The Board does not issue licenses without a completed application. YOU 

CANNOT BEGIN WORKING until you have received official notification in writing from the 

Medical Board of approval for your Supervising Physician. 

4.  What does “primary source verification” mean?  

The Medical Board verifies all applicant information as “primary source” verification. This means 

that we must receive the information DIRECTLY from the issuing source. (e.g., School transcripts 

must come directly from your school. We will not accept a non-certified copy).  

http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
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5.  What is a temporary permit?  

The Board may issue a temporary permit to any initial applicant who has otherwise met the 

requirements for Board licensure and who has either applied to take the next available certification 

examination (NCCAA or NCCPA Examination) or has already taken the examination and is 

awaiting the results thereof, with the following conditions:  

The applicant must request this permit in writing.  

Unless otherwise approved by the Board for extenuating circumstances, the permit shall be valid 

for a maximum period of ninety (90) days, but shall expire immediately upon notification of the 

applicant’s failure to achieve a satisfactory score on the approved certification examination 

required (NCCAA or NCCPA Examination). 

Even though you have filed an application with the Board, a temporary permit will not be issued 

until all administrative screening processes have been completed, and it is determined that further 

review by the Board is not needed. Applicants who have been granted licensure in another state(s) 

will not be eligible for temporary licensure.  

6.  What job duties may I perform under a temporary permit?  

The Physician Assistant job duties, while working with a temporary permit, are limited to those 

duties contained in the Board approved “Basic Job Description.” Temporary permit holders may 

not perform duties beyond the scope of practice of their board approved Primary Supervising 

Physician. Georgia does not issue locum tenens licenses or other limited temporary licenses.  

7.  I have a temporary permit, but I did not pass my required examination. What should I do? 

Applicants who hold a temporary permit but do not pass the required examination (NCCAA or 

NCCPA Examination) must STOP PRACTICING IMMEDITATLEY upon notification of a 

failing score. You must immediately surrender your temporary permit to the Georgia Composite 

Medical Board. Board rules provide that you may be issued only one (1) temporary permit. 

Therefore, you may not practice until you provide the Board with proof of a passing score on your 

required examination (NCCAA or NCCPA Examination).  

8.  May I apply for a temporary Physician Assistant permit if I will be coming to Georgia for a 

couple of weeks, or a month?  

NO: Georgia does not issue locum tenens licenses or other limited, temporary license for 

physicians or physician assistants. A temporary permit may only be issued after an applicant has 

met all requirements established by the state of Georgia for permanent licensure. You must apply 

for a permanent Georgia Physician Assistant license if you wish to practice in Georgia.  

9.  I work as a Physician Assistant in a state or county facility, does this exempt me from the 

application and/or renewal fees?  

YES: Employees working at state institutions or state hospitals or any other state run program are 

fee exempt. Physician Assistant employees of county operated health clinics or hospitals or any 

other county operated health care program are also fee exempt. However, state and county 

employees must meet all other eligibility requirements for licensure and must receive a Physician 

Assistant license. If you switch jobs and move into the private sector, you will be required to pay 

fees like all other private sector applicants.  
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10.  Is there a fee required if I decide to switch jobs, or change/add a supervising physician? If 

so, what forms are required? Is it a requirement to seek prior approval from the Medical 

Board?  

YES: There is a $75.00 fee. If you switch jobs, you may go online and log into your account to 

complete and submit the Add/Change Application. You may also download the form from our 

website, www.medicalboard.georgia.gov    

You CANNOT begin working with the new Primary Supervising Physician until you have 

received official notification in writing from the Medical Board of approval for your new 

Supervising Physician. 

11.  Is my Basic Job Description considered a part of my permanent record with my supervising 

physician? 

YES: You, the supervising and alternative supervising physician(s) shall at all times maintain this 

information on file, to be readily available for inspection, evidencing current approval for 

utilization of the Physician Assistant and the applicable approved job description.   

12.  What happens to my approved list of Alternate Physicians when I switch jobs or add/change 

a Primary Supervising Physician? 

Your Alternate Physicians are linked to your application with your Primary Supervising Physician. 

If you terminate or change your relationship with your board approved Primary Supervising 

Physician all corresponding alternate physicians are immediately terminated as well. A new 

application for a Primary Supervising Physician must be submitted along with any new alternate 

physicians within that practice relationship.  

If your Primary Supervising Physician retires, moves, or leaves the practice, an approved Alternate 

Physician cannot merely assume the role of your Primary Supervising Physician. A new 

application must be submitted for a Primary Supervising Physician including any desired alternate 

physicians within this practice relationship.  

13.  Is it true that I can apply for a Physician Assistant license without a supervising physician? 

 

YES:  you can apply for a Georgia license as a physician assistant and be approved for such 

license without a Primary Supervising Physician. However you cannot begin working as a 

physician assistant without submission of any fees; utilization Application; Basic Job Description 

signed by your Primary Supervising; and have received official notification in writing from the 

Medical Board of approval for your Supervising Physician. 

14.  Is it true that I can have more than one Board Approved Primary Supervising Physician on 

file and work with both Primary Supervising Physicians? 

YES. There is no limit as to how many Primary Supervising Physicians you can apply for. 

However each application for a Primary Supervising Physician must accompany all required fees 

and documents in order to be considered.  

15.  May I apply for a Medicaid or Medicare provider number with a temporary Georgia 

Physician Assistant permit?  

http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
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NO: It is the Medical Board’s understanding that both the Medicaid and Medicare programs DO 

NOT ACCEPT temporary permits for billing purposes. You must have your permanent Georgia 

Physician Assistant license BEFORE you apply for your provider number.  

16.  I am scheduled to complete my training program in June of next year, when should I apply 

for my Georgia Physician Assistant license?  

Applications for a Physician Assistant license remain active for one year only. Therefore, you 

should not apply for a license with the Board until you have satisfactorily completed all of your 

required training.  

17.  I received my education outside of the United States. May I apply for a Physician Assistant 

license if I went to an international school?  

NO: Georgia law requires satisfactory completion of a Physician Assistant training program that 

has been approved by the Board. The Board has not approved a Physician Assistant training 

program outside of the United States. A current list of Board approved Physician Assistant 

training programs will be made available to an applicant upon request. You may also access the 

American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) website at www.aapa.org   

18.  Does an application for a Georgia Medical license have an expiration date? 

YES: Applications for a Georgia Physician Assistant license remain active for one-year only. If 

you applied for a Georgia Physician Assistant license and were not issued a permanent license 

within 12 months, you must reapply by submitting a new application, with your most current 

information, in addition to an application fees. Upon receipt and review of your application, we 

will notify you of any documentation previously provided which is acceptable. All other 

information, such as letters of reference and a current resume MUST BE resubmitted. We will not 

simply reactivate your old application.  

19.  I have decided not to move to Georgia and I want to withdraw my application. What should 

I do? Is my application fee refundable?  

If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is 

necessary for you to put this request in writing, sign and date the request and provide a brief 

explanation as to why you would like to withdraw your application. Fees paid to the Georgia 

Medical Board are non-refundable whether or not a license is issued, an application is withdrawn 

or the application is denied.  

20.  Does Georgia make a distinction between a Physician Anesthesia Assistant and a Physician 

Assistant when issuing a Physician Assistant License? 

YES: The Georgia Medical Board has different requirements for a Physician Assistant for Primary 

Care and a Physician Anesthesia Assistant. The major differences are in training, the type of 

professional examination taken as well as a very different job description and responsibilities. 

Please read the Physician Assistant Act for detailed information as well as the rules of the 

Georgia Composite Medical Board for Physician Assistants.  

21.  I am a certified Physician Anesthesia Assistant and a certified Physician Assistant can I 

apply for a license to practice as both in Georgia? 

http://www.aapa.org/


Frequently Asked Questions- Physician Assistant Licensure Process                     Revised 4/21/2016 

Yes: You must submit a separate application for each position. You must have notification from 

the board of your approved Primary Supervising Physician prior to working. You must work 

within the scope of practice of your Primary Supervising Physician. 

22.  May a Board licensee practice in Georgia using a Physician Assistant license from another 

state? 

NO: The only exception that allows out-of-state licensed Physician Assistants to practice in 

Georgia is when the U.S. military employs the individual, or other federal installation such as a 

veterans' hospital, or an Indian reservation. Physician Assistants who work for the federal 

government, as such, may not practice outside the employing federal facility without first 

obtaining a Georgia Physician Assistant license.  

23.  Are Physician Assistants in Georgia required to obtain continuing education? How do you 

verify if I have fulfilled my continuing education obligation?  

 

YES: Physician assistants licensed to practice shall complete Board approved continuing medical 

education of not less than forty (40) hours biennially. At least ten (10) hours shall be directly 

related to the specialty of the Board approved primary supervising physician. Physician assistants 

who are authorized to issue prescription drug orders shall be required as a part of the number of 

hours of continuing education required herein, to complete a minimum of three (3) hours in 

practice specific pharmaceuticals in which the physician assistant has prescription order privileges.  

At the time of renewal, proof of continuing education IS NOT required unless you are randomly 

audited. If audited, you must provide to a representative of the Board, proof of completing your 

continuing education requirements. Failure to provide proof of continuing education completion 

may lead to possible action by the Medical Board.  

24.  How do I report a change of address?  

You may visit our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov , log into your account and update 

your address online. You may also send an e-mail to medbd@dch.ga.gov . Please be sure to 

include your full name, title, license number, your old address and the new address. It is very 

important to specify if the address change is for your mailing/practice address OR both. Also 

remember that the mailing address you provide will be the address listed on our website for the 

public to view UNLESS you provide a practice location address.  

25.  Do I need to get approval for adding alternate physicians? 

NO: The board does not approve alternate physicians. It is your responsibility to ensure any and 

all alternates you work with have signed the alternate form (Form E, Form F, or AC-1) prior to 

engaging in practice with them as your Alternate Supervising Physician, your Primary Supervising 

Physician must sign this form as well. It is your responsibility to send this form to the board and to 

maintain a copy for your records. There is no limit as to how many alternate physicians you have 

on file under your Primary Supervising Physician. It is your responsibility to ensure you have a 

copy of all your signed Alternate Physicians forms, do not work under any Alternate Physician 

that you have not submitted notification to the board for or that you do not have a signature for. 

Your alternate physicians are an extension of your board approved Primary Supervising Physician. 

For each board approved Primary Supervising Physician application you have on file you will 

have a corresponding set of Alternate Supervising Physicians listed for that Primary Supervising 

Physician. If your relationship with your Primary Supervising Physician terminates for any reason 

all corresponding alternate physicians are immediately terminated as well.  

http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
mailto:medbd@dch.ga.gov
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Continuing to practice under an alternate physician when your practice relationship with your 

board approved Primary Supervising Physician has changed, constitutes practice without licensure 

and could be subject to board discipline. 

26.  I just found out that my Office Manager did not renew my license as I had thought. My 

license is now lapsed, what do I do now? 

STOP WORKING IMMEDIATELY!!! NOTIFY THE BOARD, notify your Primary 

Supervising Physician and begin the process of license renewal application.  DO NOT return to 

working as a Physician Assistant until you have received written notification of 

reinstatement of your license and approval of your Primary Supervising Physician. 

ADDITIONALLY NOTE: YOU, the licensee are SOLELY responsible for ensuring your license 

renewal is completed every 2 years during your birth month. This is NOT the responsibility of an 

office manager, HR department, etc.  


