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Frequently Asked Questions   
Clinical Perfusionist Licensure  

 
Disclaimer: Any and all statements herein should not be construed as official policy or positions of the Georgia Composite 

Medical Board (GCMB). The information is merely provided on our web page by Board staff for general guidance 
to the citizens of Georgia and users of our website.  No individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding 
opinion or statement for the full Board.  Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a legal opinion for 
any particular situation. Refer to the Rules and Laws of the Georgia Composite Medical Board and consult an 
attorney of your choice for clarification. 

 
It is RECOMMENDED that YOU DO NOT ACCEPT an offer to practice  as a Clinical Perfusionist in Georgia UNTIL you 
have met all the necessary requirements for licensure, and have been issued a license.   

1. How do I apply for a Clinical Perfusionist license?   
ONLINE:  The quickest and easiest way to apply for this type of license is to submit your application online by visiting our 
website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov and click the Apply, Renew, Reinstate or Manage License link.  You will be 
required to REGISTER first before you can apply online for this license.   
 

PAPER APPLICATION:  If you prefer to apply by paper application, you may visit our website at 
www.medicalboard.georgia.gov  and click the For Professionals link.  A request for an application may also be requested in 
writing by submitting the following information:  your legal name and mailing address, or by contacting the Board directly 
at (404) 656-3913 or 3914.   
 

2. How long does it take to obtain a Georgia Clinical Perfusionist license?   
The normal processing time for a clinical Perfusionist license, depending on timeliness of primary source documentation and 
other required information, is 4-6 weeks.  Once your application is complete, your file will be sent to quality assurance and 
reviewed within 5-10 business days and an initial licensure determination will be made. You will be notified in writing of 
the initial determination and the next scheduled Medical Board meeting date when your application will be 
considered.    
 

3. I have a job offer and need a Clinical Perfusionist license immediately. What should I do if my application is not 
considered complete by the 5-business day deadline to go to the next Board meeting? 

 
4. May I apply for a temporary license? 

YES.  Temporary licenses may be issued to applicants between board meetings, who have submitted the application and all 
supporting materials and have met all the qualifications for licensure.  Such licenses shall have the effect of a permanent 
license until the next regular Board meeting, when the temporary license shall become void.  The temporary license fee shall 
be designated in the fee schedule. 
 
Under these circumstances the Board encourages you to check with your primary source verifiers, (e.g., school transcripts, 
references, post-graduate training program, test scores, and out-of-state licensure verification), to make sure they send your 
information directly to the Medical Board in a timely fashion. The Board does not issue licenses without a completed 
application.  The Board highly recommends that YOU DO NOT ACCEPT an offer of employment in Georgia UNTIL you 
have met all the necessary requirements for licensure and have been notified in writing of your approval for a Clinical 
Perfusionist license. 
 

5. What is the cost for a temporary license?  
There is a $50.00 fee for a temporary license.   
 

6. What does “primary source verification” mean?  
The Medical Board verifies all applicant information as “primary source” verification. This means that we must receive the 
information DIRECTLY from the issuing source. (e.g., School transcripts must come directly from your school. We will not 
accept a non-certified copy). 

 
7. Does an application for a Georgia Clinical Perfusionist license have an expiration date?   
 YES:  Applications for a Georgia Clinical Perfusionist license remain active for one-year only.  If you applied for a Georgia 

license and were not issued a permanent license within 12 months, you must reapply by submitting a new application, with 
your most current information, in addition to an application fee.  Upon receipt and review of your application, we will notify 
you of any documentation previously provided which is acceptable.  All other information, such as letters of reference and a 
current resume MUST BE resubmitted.  We will not simply reactivate your old application. 

http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
http://medicalboard.georgia.gov/portal/site/GCMB/menuitem.2f54fa407984c51e93f35eead03036a0/?vgnextoid=5e121ec599906210VgnVCM100000bf01020aRCRD
http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov/
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8. I have decided not to move to Georgia and I want to withdraw my application. What should I do? Is my application 

fee refundable?  
 If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is necessary for you to put 

this request in writing, sign and date the request and provide a brief explanation as to why you would like to withdraw your 
application. Fees paid to the Georgia Medical Board are non-refundable whether or not a license is issued, an application is 
withdrawn or the application is denied. 

 
9. Does Georgia issue provisional Clinical Perfusionist licenses?  

YES.  Under the Clinical Perfusionist Licensure Act, a Provisional Clinical Perfusionist license may be issued to a person 
who submits evidence to the Board of having successfully completed an approved perfusion education program required for 
licensure, and upon filing of a completed application and the application fee. The law states that a provisional license shall be 
valid for two years from the date it is issued and may not be renewed.  A provisional licensed clinical Perfusionist is required 
to be under the supervision and direction of a licensed clinical Perfusionist at all times during which the provisional licensed 
clinical Perfusionist performs perfusion.   

 
10. How much does a provisional license cost?  

The cost for a provisional license is $300. 
 
11. I am scheduled to complete my training program in June of next year, when should I apply for my Georgia Clinical 

Perfusionist license?  
Application for a Clinical Perfusionist license remain active for one year only. Therefore, you should not apply for a license 
with the Board until you have satisfactorily completed all of your required training.  If you have not passed the competency 
examination required, you may NOT apply for a provisional perfusionist license.   

 
12. Are there exceptions as to who must obtain a Clinical Perfusionist license?   

YES. Any person licensed as a physician pursuant to Article 2 of Title 43 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated.  A 
person licensed under Title 43 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated as a registered professional nurse, physician’s 
assistant or respiratory care professional is exempt from the prohibition contained in O.C.G.A. 43-34-177, if the person does 
not represent to the public, directly or indirectly, or use any name, title or designation to indicate that the person is licensed as 
licensed clinical Perfusionist or provisional clinical Perfusionist; and the person limits his or her acts to the scope of practice 
authorized by the appropriate licensing agency.   In addition, O.C.G.A. 43-34-178(5) exempts any legally qualified 
Perfusionist employed by the U.S. government while in the discharge of his/her official duties from obtaining a license. 

 
13. Are there continuing education requirements for renewal of my permanent Clinical Perfusionist license?  How do you 

verify if I have fulfilled my continuing education obligation?  
YES.  Completion of thirty (30) hours of continuing education in courses, programs or activities approved for continuing 
education credit by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP) for the period of the previous 2-year renewal 
cycle is required.  At the time of renewal, proof of continuing education IS NOT required unless you are randomly audited.  
If audited, you must provide to a representative of the Board, proof of completing your continuing education requirements. 
Failure to provide proof of continuing education completion may lead to possible action by the Medical Board. 

 
14. How do I report a change of address?  

You may visit our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov, log into your account and update your address online.  You 
may also send an e-mail to medbd@dch.ga.gov.  Please be sure to include your full name, title, license number, your old 
address and the new address.   It is very important to specify if the address change is for your mailing/practice address OR 
both.  Also remember that the mailing address you provide will be the address listed on our website for the public to view 
UNLESS you provide a practice location address.  
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