### Frequently Asked Questions Auricular Detoxification Technician Licensure Process

Disclaimer: Any and all statements herein should not be construed as official policy or positions of the Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB). The information is merely provided on our website by Board staff for general guidance to the citizens of Georgia and users of our website. No individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding opinion or statement for the full Board. Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a legal opinion for any particular situation. Refer to the Rules and Laws of the Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB) and consult an attorney of your choice for clarification.

It is **RECOMMENDED** that <u>YOU DO NOT ACCEPT</u> an offer to practice in Georgia <u>UNTIL</u> you have been notified in writing from the Board that you have met all necessary requirements for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license.

### **1.** How do I apply for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license?

**ONLINE:** The quickest and easiest way to apply for this type of license is to submit your application online by visiting our website at <u>www.medicalboard.georgia.gov</u> and click the <u>Apply, Renew, Reinstate</u> <u>or Manage License</u> link. You will be required to REGISTER first before you can apply for this license.

**PAPER APPLICATION:** If you prefer to apply by paper application, you may visit our website at <u>www.medicalboard.georgia.gov</u> and click the <u>For Professionals</u> link. A request for an application may also be requested in writing by submitting the following information: your legal name and mailing address, or by contacting the Board directly at (404) 656-3913 or 3914.

### 2. Does an application for an Auricular Detoxification Technician have an expiration date?

**YES.** Applications for an **Auricular Detoxification Technician** License remain active for **one-year only**. If you applied for an **Auricular Detoxification Technician** License and were not issued a permanent license within 12 months, you must reapply by submitting a new application, with your most current information, in addition to an application fee. Upon receipt and review of your application, you will be notified of any documentation previously provided which is acceptable. All other information, such as letters of reference MUST BE resubmitted. We will not simply "reactivate" your old application.

# **3.** Is it true that my Auricular Detoxification Technician license is only valid for my present employer?

**YES**. The *Acupuncture Act of Georgia* makes no provision for Auricular Detoxification Technicians to practice independently. Auricular Detoxification Technicians may only practice in a county; state or federal (government operated) drug treatment facility. The rules for Auricular Detoxification Technician, as promulgated by the Georgia Composite Medical Board, only allow the ADT license to be "employer specific." If you change jobs to another clinic, you must first notify the Medical Board.

## 4. Is there a fee if, as an Auricular Detoxification Technician, I switch employers and need a new license?

**YES.** There is a \$50.00 fee for this service. If you switch jobs, resubmit Forms F&G with the new supervisor and liability insurance information. Please include the fee by either check or money order made payable to the Georgia Composite Medical Board.

### 5. How long does it take to get my Auricular Detoxification Technician license?

Absent any complicating factors, the average application process takes approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks to complete. Once your application is complete, your file will be placed on the agenda for review at the next scheduled Medical Board meeting.

## 6. If my application is not received as "completed" by the 5-business day deadline to go to the next Board meeting, what should I do?

In most cases, the only thing to do is to follow-up with your primary source verifiers to find out if missing documentation has been sent to the Board. An application is considered complete when all the application pages, primary source documentation, and administrative screenings have been conducted. A final quality assurance audit of your application is the final process before your application is considered complete. Staff cannot submit an incomplete application to the Board for approval.

### 7. I have a job offer and need a license immediately. What should I do?

The application process takes approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks to complete. In the application instructions, applicants are informed **NOT TO ACCEPT EMPLOYMENT** until you receive your Georgia Auricular Detoxification license. The Board must stress to you that it is highly recommended that <u>YOU DO NOT ACCEPT</u> an offer of employment in Georgia <u>UNTIL</u> you have met all the necessary requirements for licensure and have been notified in writing of your approval for a license.

### 8. I will be conducting a seminar on Clean Needle Technique (or any other type seminar) in Georgia. Must I have a Georgia Auricular Detoxification License to be able to conduct my seminar?

**NO.** The Acupuncture Act of Georgia specifically makes provisions under 43-34-71(b)(3) to allow persons from out-of-state to conduct educational seminars in Georgia without a Georgia Acupuncture license or ADT license so as long as the instructor is licensed in another state and the seminar is sponsored by a Board approved professional organization of acupuncture. However, if the participants are not licensed in Georgia and the seminar requires a practical examination (demonstrate the needle technique on "volunteer patient"), then, the student must be supervised "directly" either by a person who is licensed to practice medicine in the state of Georgia or an acupuncturist who is licensed in the state of Georgia.

### 9. I am scheduled to complete my training program in June of next year, when should I apply for my Georgia Auricular Detoxification Technician License? Applications for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license remain active for one year only.

Therefore, you should not apply for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license remain active for one year only. Composite Medical Board until you have completed all of your required training, and have been notified that you have passed the required examinations.

### I received my education outside of the United States. May I apply for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license in Georgia if I went to an international school? YES. Georgia law makes provisions to allow for licensure for Auricular Detoxification Technician

**YES.** Georgia law makes provisions to allow for licensure for Auricular Detoxification Technician trained outside the United States. The law clearly acknowledges that auricular detoxification are techniques used in Oriental medicine and, therefore, many individuals have been trained in schools outside the United States.

# 11. I have decided not to move to Georgia and I want to withdraw my application. What should I do? Is my application fee refundable?

If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is necessary for you to put this request in writing and sign and date the request and give a brief explanation as to why you would like to withdraw your application. Fees paid to the Georgia Medical Board are **non-refundable** whether or not a license is issued, an application is withdrawn or the application is denied.

### 12. What does "primary source verification" mean?

The Medical Board verifies all applicant information as "primary source" verification. This means that we must receive the information **DIRECTLY** from the issuing source. Please refer to the application instructions for additional information on what primary source documentation is acceptable by the applicant.

## **13.** May a Board licensee practice auricular detoxification in Georgia using Auricular Detoxification license from another state?

**NO.** The only exception that allows an out-state-licensed Auricular Detoxification Technicain to practice in Georgia is when the individual is conducting an educational seminar on auricular detoxification techniques.

### 14. How do I report a change of address?

You may visit our website at <u>www.medicalboard.georgia.gov</u>, log into your account and update your address online. You may also send an e-mail to <u>medbd@dch.ga.gov</u>. Please be sure to include your full name, title, license number, your old address and the new address. It is very important to specify if the address change is for your **mailing/practice address OR both.** Also remember that the mailing address you provide will be the address listed on our website for the public to view **UNLESS** you provide a practice location address.

### 15. How do I find out about career opportunities in rural Georgia?

For information concerning practice opportunities in rural Georgia, please visit <u>www.dch.ga.gov</u>

### 16. How do I find out about minority health concerns in Georgia?

For information concerning minority health issues in Georgia, please visit www.dch.ga.gov