LASER LICENSURE

Frequently Asked Questions

1. I am physician with an active Georgia license. Do I need a laser license? No

2. Who requires a laser license?

Anyone who is not a physician with an active Georgia license that provides non-ablative cosmetic laser services. If you are a PA with Board approved additional duties or an APRN with a protocol agreement that includes performing cosmetic laser services AND you ARE NOT supervising an individual that requires an Assistant Laser Practitioner license, you do not need a separate laser license. If you ARE SUPERVISING an individual that requires an Assistant Laser Practitioner license, you need a Senior Laser Practitioner license.

3. Which lasers are covered?

Laser hair removal devices, intense pulsed light devices, and non-ablative light based devices.

4. What are the qualifications and requirements for licensure?

- a. Assistant Laser Practitioner
 - i. Holds a current active license as a PA, LPN, RN, APRN, esthetician, or master cosmetologist; or has previously held a license as a RN, APRN, PA, or physician
 - ii. Has 3 valid laser training certificates (see #6)
 - iii. Assistant Laser Practitioners can only treat patients under the supervision of a physician or Senior Laser Practitioner
- b. Senior Laser Practitioner
 - i. Holds a current active license as an RN, APRN, or PA; or has previously held a license as an RN, APRN, PA or physician. The applicant must have three (3) years experience.
 - ii. Has at least 3 years of clinical or medical technological experience. Clinical rotations in medical, nursing, or PA school would not satisfy this requirement.
 - iii. Has 2 valid laser training certificates (see #6)
- 5. I do not meet the requirements for regular licensure. What are the requirements for licensure under the Grandfather Clause?
 - a. You must be able to document 2,000 hours of laser experience obtained prior to March 1, 2014
 - b. You must have 2 valid laser certificates (see #6)
 - c. Application for licensing under the grandfather clause must be received no later than December 31, 2014.

6. What laser certificates are approved for licensure?

Only laser certificates from courses that were taught by a physician (no matter where the course was taught). If a physician did not teach the course, the board will accept a certificate on which a physician attests that they participated in the training. The physician's signature must be notarized.

7. Do I have to submit an application and pay the fee to obtain the license? Can I apply without the fee and then submit once approved?

Only complete applications which include all necessary supporting materials and the fee will be considered. Applications received without the fee will not be processed.

8. I have a laser license in another state. Is this valid in Georgia?

No. You will still need to apply for a Georgia license.

9. Which patients need to be examined prior to cosmetic laser treatment? Who can do this exam? Patients receiving laser hair removal or intense pulsed light services do not need to be examined prior to treatment. All other patients receiving cosmetic laser treatments must be examined prior to treatment by a Georgia licensed physician, or a PA or APRN with delegated authority to perform the exam. According to the law, a RN does not qualify to do this exam.

10. Does the owner of a laser facility need a license?

You do not require a laser license if you are not personally operating a laser.

11. Is the physician legally responsible for treatments performed by a senior laser practitioner or assistant laser practitioner?

Check with your attorney or your malpractice insurance provider.

12. I am an assistant laser practitioner. When do I need direct on-site supervision from a senior laser practitioner or physician? When do I NOT require direct on site supervision? You do not require direct on site supervision when performing laser hair removal or IPL treatment. Performance of any other light based cosmetic laser procedure requires direct on site supervision.

Updated 11/12/14