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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS – REQUEST TO CHANGE OWNERSHIP 

 

 
 

GEORGIA COMPOSITE MEDICAL BOARD 
REQUEST TO CHANGE OWNERSHIP OF PAIN CLINIC 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST 

 
 
 
EMPLOYMENT IN GEORGIA.  It is strongly recommended that you DO NOT practice in a pain clinic or 
operate a pain management clinic until your Georgia pain management clinic license number has been 
issued. 
 

Brief Overview 

In order for an application to go before the Board for approval, it must be received as completed 

10 business days before the next scheduled Board meeting.  Completion of an application is 

when all primary source documentation has been received and reviewed, your application has 

met all administrative screenings, and a final quality assurance review has been completed on 

your application. 

 

Applications are reviewed in date order of receipt.  Submit all required documentation as soon as 

possible, however, without the application and fee, staff cannot begin the initial review of your application.  

It is recommended that applicants wait 10 business days, or until receipt of a deficiency letter, to contact 

the staff by phone regarding the status of their application.  It is imperative for applicants to understand 

that the review process is guided by the requirements set forth in State law, which does not provide for 

any waivers to be granted by staff. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

APPLICATION PROCESSING INFORMATION 

Mail the original application, application fee and all required documents to: 

Georgia Composite Medical Board 

ATTENTION:  PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINIC  

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 6th Floor  
ATLANTA, GA  30303 
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GENERAL INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST 
REQUEST TO CHANGE OWNERSHIP OF PAIN CLINIC 

 
All items listed that apply to your situation MUST be submitted. All copies must be 8-1/2 x 11, single-sided and 
official where required. For quality and confidential purposes, facsimiles of application materials are not accepted. 
All application material must be original, unaltered, and official where required. Now white-outs or strike 
through will be accepted. APPLICATIONS ARE VALID FOR 6-MONTHS FROM DATE OF RECEIPT. 
 
1. Change of Ownership of a pain clinic must receive approval from the Board.  
2. Pain clinic licenses cannot be transferred.   
3. Pain clinics cannot use a current pain clinic license if you are changing ownership of your clinic. 

 

❑ APPLICATION FEE.  $500.00  

❑ Make your check or money order payable to:  Georgia Composite Medical Board.  NOTE:   No application 
will be processed without the application fee.  All fees are non-refundable and subject to change. 

 

❑ APPLICATION.  Complete the application in its entirety.   
 

❑ PROOF OF OWNERSHIP.  Submit official documents such as incorporation papers filed with Secretary of 
State, or a business license issued to the location identified in the application.  The Board, at its 
discretion may request a lease agreement, bank accounts, information related to billing practices of the 
business, evidence related to form of payment for the owners of the clinic and physicians practicing at the 
clinic and any other documentation that the Board may need to determine actual ownership.  If you have 
more than one location, provide a copy for each location. 
 

❑ CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK.  Each owner, principal, manager, agent, and licensed health 
care practitioner must pass a criminal background check and further investigation, at the Board’s 
discretion.  Complete the Personnel Certification Form located in the application packet.     

 

❑ FORM A, AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT OWNERS.  Read this form in its entirety and complete all areas.  
A current passport photo is required to complete this form.  Do not submit photos from digital reproductions, 
magazines, yearbooks, weddings, birthdays, family outings, etc.  Take this form to a notary public for 
witness of your signature.  The applicant’s signature date and the notary signature date must match.  
SIGNATURES MUST BE ORIGINAL.  No whiteouts or strikeouts are accepted. NOTE:  EACH OWNER, 
PRINCIPAL, OFFICER, OR AGENT MUST SUBMIT THE AFFIDAVIT. 
 

❑ FORM B, REGISTRATION OF PROFESSIONAL BUSINESS FORM. Complete the form, have it notarized 
and send along with your application packet from EACH owner, principal, officer or agent. 
 

❑ SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENT.  Send the verifiable document from EACH owner, principal, 
officer or agent with your application packet. A listing of acceptable documents can be found attached to 
FORM B. 

 

❑ CV/Résumé.  A CV/Resume is required from each owner, principal, officer, agent, and practicing 
physician. Send the cv/resume along with your application packet. 

 

❑ National Practitioner Data Bank Report and Health Integrity and Protection Data Bank Report 
required for all physicians, physician assistants, and advance practice registered nurses who are owners 
of the clinic or will be practicing in the clinic.   
 
A.  Self-query the National Practitioner Data Bank www.npdb-hipdb.com 
B.  Once you have access to the NPDB report, the system will allow you to save a pdf file of the report to 

your desktop.  You can then EMAIL the pdf file to tara.edwards@dch.ga.gov     
 

❑ DEA DOCUMENTATION.  Submit a copy of your DEA Registration card with the application.  This is 
required for all physicians, physician assistants and advance practice registered nurses working in a pain 
clinic who have a DEA number. 

 

http://www.npdb-hipdb.com/
http://www.npdb-hipdb.com/
mailto:tara.edwards@dch.ga.gov
mailto:tara.edwards@dch.ga.gov
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❑ Proof of registration with the Georgia Prescription Monitoring Program (GPMP).  Each physician 
owning or practicing in a pain management clinic must register with the GPMP and regularly check 
the GPMP on all new and existing patients. 

 

❑ All pain management clinics that dispense controlled substances or dangerous drugs shall be 
registered with the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy as required by Chapter 4 of Title 26. 
 

 
APPLICATION PROCESSING INFORMATION 

Mail the original application, application fee and all required documents to: 
Georgia Composite Medical Board 

ATTENTION: PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINIC 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 6th Floor 
ATLANTA, GA 30303 

 
Contact Information:  
Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by email. Also, if further information is needed, email is the 
most efficient way for Board staff to contact you so that your application can be processed in the most efficient 
manner. In some cases you may have to check your spam/junk email. 


