Frequently Asked Questions Respiratory Care Professional

Disclaimer:

Any and all statements herein should not be construed as official policy or positions of the Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB). The information is merely provided on our web page by Board staff for general guidance to the citizens of Georgia and users of our website. No individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding opinion or statement for the full Board. Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a legal opinion for any particular situation. Refer to the Rules and Laws of the Georgia Composite Medical Board and consult an attorney of your choice for clarification.

It is RECOMMENDED that <u>YOU DO NOT ACCEPT</u> an offer to practice respiratory care in Georgia <u>UNTIL</u> you have met all the necessary requirements, and have been advised by the Board that you are eligible to receive a respiratory care license.

1. How do I apply for a Respiratory Care Professional license?

<u>ONLINE:</u> The quickest and easiest way to apply for this type of license is to submit your application online by visiting our website at <u>www.medicalboard.georgia.gov</u> and click the <u>Apply, Renew, Reinstate or Manage License</u> link. You will be required to REGISTER first before you can apply for this license.

<u>PAPER APPLICATION</u>: If you prefer to apply by paper application, you may visit our website at <u>www.medicalboard.georgia.gov</u> and click the <u>For Professionals</u> link. A request for an application may also be requested in writing by submitting the following information: your legal name and mailing address, or by contacting the Board directly at (404) 656-3913 or 3914.

2. How long does it take to obtain a Respiratory Care Professional license?

The normal processing time for a respiratory care professional license, depending on timeliness of primary source documentation and other required information, is 4-6 weeks. Once your application is complete, your file will be sent to quality assurance and reviewed within 5-10 business days and an initial licensure determination will be made. You will be notified in writing of the initial determination and the next scheduled Medical Board meeting date when your application will be considered.

3. I have a job offer and need a Respiratory Care Professional license immediately. What should I do if my application is not considered complete by the 5-business day deadline to go to the next Board meeting?

Under these circumstances the Board encourages you to check with your primary source verifiers, (e.g., school transcripts, references, post-graduate training program, test scores, and out-of-state licensure verification), to make sure they send your information directly to the Board in a timely fashion. The Board does not issue licenses without a completed application. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO PRACTICE respiratory care in Georgia UNTIL you have been advised by the Board that you HAVE BEEN GRANTED a respiratory care license.

4. What does "primary source verification" mean?

The Medical Board verifies all applicant information as "primary source" verification. This means that we must receive the information DIRECTLY from the issuing source. (e.g., School transcripts must come directly from your school. We will not accept a non-certified copy).

5. I am scheduled to complete my training program in June of next year. When should I apply for my Georgia Respiratory Care license?

You should not apply for a RCP license with the Georgia Medical Board until sixty (60) days prior to completing your training.

6. Does an application for a Georgia Respiratory Care Professional certificate have an expiration date?

<u>YES</u>: Applications for a Georgia Respiratory Care Professional certificate remain active for **one-year only**. If you applied for a RCP certificate and were not issued a permanent certificate within 12 months, you must reapply by submitting a new application, with your most current information, in addition to an application fee. Upon receipt and review of your application, we will notify you of any documentation previously provided which is acceptable. All other information, such as letters of reference and a current resume MUST BE resubmitted. We will not simply reactivate your old application.

Revision: 12/2010

7. I have decided not to move to Georgia and I want to withdraw my application. What should I do? Is my application fee refundable?

If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is necessary for you to put this request **in writing**, sign and date the request and provide a brief explanation as to why you would like to withdraw your application. Fees paid to the Georgia Medical Board are **non-refundable** whether or not a license is issued, an application is withdrawn or the application is denied.

8. Are there exceptions as to who must obtain a Respiratory Care Professional certificate?

<u>YES</u>. The delivery of respiratory care by health care personnel *who have been formally trained in respiratory care modalities* and who are duly licensed to provide that care under any other provision of Title 43 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated are exempted from the prohibition contained in O.C.G.A. 43-34-150(a)(1). Persons in military services or working in federal facilities when functioning in the course of their assigned duties are also exempted.

9. Are Respiratory Care Professionals in Georgia required to obtain continuing education? How do you verify if I have fulfilled my continuing education obligation?

<u>YES</u>: Respiratory Care Professionals are required to complete thirty (30) hours or 3 continuing education units of approved continuing education for the period of the renewal cycle. One continuing education unit shall be equal to 10 contact hours of instruction. At the time of renewal, proof of continuing education IS NOT required unless you are randomly audited. If audited, you must provide to a representative of the Board, proof of completing your continuing education requirements. Failure to provide proof of continuing education completion may lead to possible action by the Medical Board.

10. How do I report a change of address?

You may visit our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov, log into your account and update your address online. You may also send an e-mail to medbd@dch.ga.gov. Please be sure to include your full name, title, license number, your old address and the new address. It is very important to specify if the address change is for your mailing/practice address OR both. Also remember that the mailing address you provide will be the address listed on our website for the public to view UNLESS you provide a practice location address.

Revision: 12/2010