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Frequently Asked Questions  
Auricular Detoxification Technician Licensure Process 

 
Disclaimer: Any and all statements herein should not be construed as official policy or positions of the 

Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB). The information is merely provided on our website  
by Board staff for general guidance to the citizens of Georgia and users of our website.  No 
individual staff member is authorized to provide a binding opinion or statement for the full 
Board.  Nothing herein should be construed as legal advice or as a legal opinion for any 
particular situation. Refer to the Rules and Laws of the Georgia Composite Medical Board 
(GCMB) and consult an attorney of your choice for clarification. 

 
It is RECOMMENDED that YOU DO NOT ACCEPT an offer to practice in Georgia UNTIL you have 
been notified in writing from the Board that you have met all necessary requirements for an Auricular 
Detoxification Technician license.  
 
1. How do I apply for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license?   

ONLINE:  The quickest and easiest way to apply for this type of license is to submit your application 
online by visiting our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov and click the Apply, Renew, Reinstate 
or Manage License link.  You will be required to REGISTER first before you can apply for this license.   
 
PAPER APPLICATION:  If you prefer to apply by paper application, you may visit our website at 
www.medicalboard.georgia.gov  and click the For Professionals link.  A request for an application may 
also be requested in writing by submitting the following information:  your legal name and mailing 
address, or by contacting the Board directly at (404) 656-3913 or 3914.   

 
2. Does an application for an Auricular Detoxification Technician have an expiration date?   
 YES.  Applications for an Auricular Detoxification Technician License remain active for one-year 

only.  If you applied for an Auricular Detoxification Technician License and were not issued a 
permanent license within 12 months, you must reapply by submitting a new application, with your most 
current information, in addition to an application fee.  Upon receipt and review of your application, you 
will be notified of any documentation previously provided which is acceptable.  All other information, 
such as letters of reference MUST BE resubmitted.  We will not simply “reactivate” your old 
application. 

 
3. Is it true that my Auricular Detoxification Technician license is only valid for my present 

employer?   
 YES.  The Acupuncture Act of Georgia makes no provision for Auricular Detoxification Technicians to 

practice independently.  Auricular Detoxification Technicians may only practice in a county; state or 
federal (government operated) drug treatment facility. The rules for Auricular Detoxification 
Technician, as promulgated by the Georgia Composite Medical Board, only allow the ADT license to be 
“employer specific.”  If you change jobs to another clinic, you must first notify the Medical Board. 

 
4. Is there a fee if, as an Auricular Detoxification Technician, I switch employers and need a new 

license?  
 YES.  There is a $50.00 fee for this service.  If you switch jobs, resubmit Forms F&G with the new 

supervisor and liability insurance information.  Please include the fee by either check or money order 
made payable to the Georgia Composite Medical Board.   
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5. How long does it take to get my Auricular Detoxification Technician license?  
 Absent any complicating factors, the average application process takes approximately six (6) to eight (8) 

weeks to complete.  Once your application is complete, your file will be placed on the agenda for review 
at the next scheduled Medical Board meeting.  

 
6. If my application is not received as “completed” by the 5-business day deadline to go to the next 

Board meeting, what should I do?   
 In most cases, the only thing to do is to follow-up with your primary source verifiers to find out if 

missing documentation has been sent to the Board.  An application is considered complete when all the 
application pages, primary source documentation, and administrative screenings have been conducted.  
A final quality assurance audit of your application is the final process before your application is 
considered complete.  Staff cannot submit an incomplete application to the Board for approval. 

 
7. I have a job offer and need a license immediately.  What should I do?  
  The application process takes approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks to complete.  In the application 

instructions, applicants are informed NOT TO ACCEPT EMPLOYMENT until you receive your 
Georgia Auricular Detoxification license.  The Board must stress to you that it is highly recommended 
that YOU DO NOT ACCEPT an offer of employment in Georgia UNTIL you have met all the 
necessary requirements for licensure and have been notified in writing of your approval for a license. 

 
8. I will be conducting a seminar on Clean Needle Technique (or any other type seminar) in Georgia.  

Must I have a Georgia Auricular Detoxification License to be able to conduct my seminar?    
 NO.  The Acupuncture Act of Georgia specifically makes provisions under 43-34-71(b)(3) to allow 

persons from out-of-state to conduct educational seminars in Georgia without a Georgia Acupuncture 
license or ADT license so as long as the instructor is licensed in another state and the seminar is 
sponsored by a Board approved professional organization of acupuncture.  However, if the participants 
are not licensed in Georgia and the seminar requires a practical examination (demonstrate the needle 
technique on “volunteer patient”), then, the student must be supervised “directly” either by a person who 
is licensed to practice medicine in the state of Georgia or an acupuncturist who is licensed in the state of 
Georgia. 

 
9. I am scheduled to complete my training program in June of next year, when should I apply for my 

Georgia Auricular Detoxification Technician License?   
 Applications for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license remain active for one year only.  

Therefore, you should not apply for an Auricular Detoxification Technician license with the Georgia 
Composite Medical Board until you have completed all of your required training, and have been notified 
that you have passed the required examinations. 

 
10. I received my education outside of the United States.  May I apply for an Auricular Detoxification 

Technician license in Georgia if I went to an international school?   
 YES. Georgia law makes provisions to allow for licensure for Auricular Detoxification Technician 

trained outside the United States.  The law clearly acknowledges that auricular detoxification are 
techniques used in Oriental medicine and, therefore, many individuals have been trained in schools 
outside the United States. 

 
11. I have decided not to move to Georgia and I want to withdraw my application.  What should I do?  

Is my application fee refundable?  
 If you decide during the application process that you would like to withdraw your application, it is 

necessary for you to put this request in writing and sign and date the request and give a brief explanation 
as to why you would like to withdraw your application.  Fees paid to the Georgia Medical Board are 



Page 3 – Frequently Asked Questions –Auricular Detoxification Technicians                                                                    12/2010 
 

non-refundable whether or not a license is issued, an application is withdrawn or the application is 
denied. 

 
12. What does “primary source verification” mean?  
 The Medical Board verifies all applicant information as “primary source” verification.  This means that 

we must receive the information DIRECTLY from the issuing source. Please refer to the application 
instructions for additional information on what primary source documentation is acceptable by the 
applicant. 

 
13. May a Board licensee practice auricular detoxification in Georgia using Auricular Detoxification 

license from another state?   
NO.  The only exception that allows an out-state-licensed Auricular Detoxification Technicain to 
practice in Georgia is when the individual is conducting an educational seminar on auricular 
detoxification techniques.  
 

14. How do I report a change of address?  
You may visit our website at www.medicalboard.georgia.gov, log into your account and update your 
address online.  You may also send an e-mail to medbd@dch.ga.gov.  Please be sure to include your 
full name, title, license number, your old address and the new address.   It is very important to specify if 
the address change is for your mailing/practice address OR both.  Also remember that the mailing 
address you provide will be the address listed on our website for the public to view UNLESS you 
provide a practice location address.  
 

15. How do I find out about career opportunities in rural Georgia?   
For information concerning practice opportunities in rural Georgia, please visit www.dch.ga.gov  
 

16. How do I find out about minority health concerns in Georgia?   
For information concerning minority health issues in Georgia, please visit  www.dch.ga.gov 
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