
Questions about Georgia Pain Rule 
 
1.  Who must perform the physical exam of a patient enrolled in a licensed 
hospice setting?  
 
According to rule 360-3-.06.2(c) a physician shall have a medical history of the patient, 
a physical exam of the patient shall have been conducted and informed consent shall 
have been obtained.   This implies that the physician does not personally have to 
perform this physical examination.  The physical examination may be performed prior 
to the referral to hospice by the referring physician and documentation of such would 
be adequate.  If a completely new physical exam is required that physical exam must 
be performed by a licensed healthcare provider and that must be within the scope of 
practice of that licensed health care provider in the State of Georgia.  
 
2.  How often do patients need to be tested for compliance under the new 
board rule?   
 
The rule states that the patient must be seen at least every 90 days when they are 
being prescribed chronic opiate therapy for greater than 90 days in the one year 
period.  The patient should be checked for compliance during this evaluation.  The 
patient may be seen more often than every 90 days.  Evaluations for compliance 
include physical exam, laboratory evaluation to include serum, sweat, urine or blood 
testing, pill counts, and interviews.  Sweat, serum, urine and blood testing should be 
done on a random basis.  A random basis is defined as a basis which the patient cannot 
predict ahead of time.  It would be difficult to test a patient randomly if they were only 
seen every three months as the requirement is for them to be tested every three 
months.  In this setting the patient may be called in for a nonclinical visit to be tested 
as one possible solution to this dilemma or the patient may be seen on a more frequent 
basis.  
 
3.  When may a hardship exception to the required patient visit be made? 
 
 An exception may be made to seeing the patient at least every 90 days, because of 
hardship, as long as this is clearly documented in the chart.  Hardship is determined by 
the physician using the physician’s judgment in individual cases.  
 
4.  A patient asks if they have to comply with the new state law on pain 
management when being prescribed Concerta, a schedule II prescription for 
ADD.   
 
The new rule applies to schedule II and III substances prescribed for pain or chronic 
pain.  The use of schedule II substances for the management of ADD is not included 
under the purview of this rule. 
 



5. If I prescribe schedule II or III substances to ANY patient more than 90 days, 
am I required to perform further monitoring? 
 
The rule states that ANY patient prescribed schedule II or III substances 90 days or 
greater in a calendar year MUST be monitored.  The definition of monitoring in the 
rule states this MUST include serum, urine, saliva or sweat testing EXCEPT in cases of 
hardship.  Any hardship exception must be clearly documented in the patient record.  
There are no further requirements unless a physician’s practice is composed of greater 
than 50% annual patient population of chronic pain receiving schedule II or III 
substances. 


