You are here

Profiles of Executive Director, Staff

LaSharn Hughes, MBA 
Executive Director
PH: (404) 656-3913
E-Mail: lhughes@dch.ga.gov

The Executive Director serves as the Board's administrator and agency head. Through oversight of the staff and operations, the Executive Director assures implementation of the Board's directives. Responsibilities include managing the Board's resources and daily activities.

Jean Rawlings Sumner, MD 
Medical Director
PH: (404) 656-3913

The Medical Director provides expert medical consultation on medical and regulatory issues to Board and the Executive Director.

Robert Jeffery, MBA 
Director of Operations
PH: (404) 657-6492
E-Mail: rjeffery@dch.ga.gov

The Director of Operations directs activities such as financial administration, budget planning, vendor management, and general support.

Jennifer A. Bass, MS
Director of Enforcement
PH: (404) 807-0811
E-Mail: jbass@dch.ga.gov

The Director of Enforcement supervises the Enforcement Unit and the Legal Services Officer, oversees all enforcment operations and coordinates activities with the investigations unit and other governmental entities.

Vacant (Emmalie Kirkland, Acting Director)
Director of Investigations
PH: (404) 463-0635
E-Mail: ekirkland@dch.ga.gov

The Director of Investigations supervises the Investigative Unit, oversees all investigative operations and coordinates investigations with other governmental entities.

Betsy D. Cohen, Esq.
Legal Services Officer
PH: (404) 657-3194
E-Mail: bcohen@dch.ga.gov

The Legal Services Officer provides legal services to the Board, such as drafting consent orders and legal documents and responding to Open Records requests.

Diane Atkinson
Administrative Assistant & Board Secretary
PH: (404) 657-6490
E-Mail: matkinson@dch.ga.gov

The Board Secretary is assistant to the Executive Director, and is also responsible for recording Medical Board minutes and assisting with the monthly Board meetings.

Tommy Kelly
System Administrator
PH: (404) 463-8900
E-Mail: tkelly@dch.ga.gov

The System Administrator supports the basic functionality of all technological resources of the Board, including websites and regulatory software, and also support licensees and customers using GCMB Online Services.

Phyllis White
Operations Analyst
PH: (404) 463-6875
E-Mail: pwhite@dch.ga.gov

The Operations Analyst is responsible for Physician Profiles, processing invoices, and providing project management support to the Board.

ENFORCEMENT UNIT

Shonda Roberts
Supervisor, Enforcement Unit
PH: (404) 657-6487
E-Mail: sroberts@dch.ga.gov

The Enforcement Supervisor oversees Enforcement Unit staff to assure the timely processing of complaints.  The position also files reports with the National Practitioner Data Bank, prepares materials for the Investigative Committee, and updates the licensee database with disciplinary information and history.

Jeanette Carter
Legal Secretary, Enforcement Unit
PH: (404) 463-8903
E-Mail: jecarter@dch.ga.gov

Sharon Cloud
Legal Secretary, Enforcement Unit
PH: (404) 657-6494
E-Mail: scloud@dch.ga.gov

Vacant
Compliance Manager
PH: (404) 651-7852
E-Mail: medbd@dch.ga.gov

The Compliance Manager works with licensees who are under consent orders to ensure their compliance with the terms and conditions set by the Board.

LICENSURE UNIT - ALL PROFESSIONS

The License Unit (all professions) is responsible for initial applications and reinstatement applications for all license and certificate types.

Carol Dorsey
Licensure Unit Manager
PH: (404) 463-5038
E-Mail: cdorsey@dch.ga.gov

Deborah Bruce
Applications Specialist: Physicians (P-Z)
PH: (404) 656-7067
E-Mail: dbruce@dch.ga.gov

Candis Dickerson
Applications Specialist: Physicians (H-O)
PH: (404) 657-6491
E-Mail: cdickerson@dch.ga.gov

Johnita Daniel
Applications Specialist: Physicians (A-G)
PH: (404) 463-6162
E-Mail: jdaniel1@dch.ga.gov

Carol Dorsey
Applications Specialist: Acupuncturists, Auricular Detoxification Technicians
PH: (404) 463-5038
E-Mail: cdorsey@dch.ga.gov

Kia Hargrove
Applications Specialist: APRN Protocols
PH: (404) 463-5038
E-Mail: khargrove@dch.ga.gov

Katonya Reynolds
Applications Specialist: Respiratory Care Professionals, Orthotists and Prosthetists
PH: (404) 463-2292
E-Mail:  kreynolds@dch.ga.gov

Mary Griffin
Applications Specialist: Physician Assistants, Clinical Perfusionists
PH: (404) 657-6495
E-Mail: mgriffin@dch.ga.gov

CUSTOMER SUPPORT SPECIALIST

Pearl Stokes
Information and Referral Specialist
PH: (404) 656-3913
E-mail pmstokes@dch.ga.gov

The Information and Referral Specialist provides information to the Board's customers.

Back to the top