The Georgia Composite Medical Board published the application and guidelines for the state’s new pain management clinic license on Friday, June 21, 2013. The application is available for download at the Board’s website.
The application implements House Bill 178, the Georgia Pain Management Clinic Act, which was signed on May 2, 2013 by Governor Nathan Deal. Passed with overwhelming majorities in the state House of Representatives (150 to 15) and state Senate (44 to 5), HB 178 requires that all pain management clinics operating in Georgia are licensed effective July 1, 2013.
The new law defines a pain management clinic as any medical practice that advertises services in the treatment of pain, uses the word “pain” in the name of the clinic or practice, or has more than 50 percent of its annual patient population for chronic, non-terminal pain by the use of Schedule II or Schedule III controlled substances. Each pain management clinic location must be licensed individually.
The application process includes payment of a $500 application fee, a criminal background check, and other forms & documents. Clinics must be wholly owned by licensed physicians, with exemptions for qualifying clinics that were already operating in Georgia on June 30, 2013. Clinics and practices owned or operated by hospitals do not need to be licensed, but must file an annual notification with the Board.
Pain Management Licenses can now be searched & verified online here